The Devil Is Real, I Met Him Once

The devil is real, I met him once.
Met him once; he killed me twice.
First with words rich and sweet
And then with syllables of ice.

The devil is real, I met him once.
Yes I said and so we danced.
Music soft and music loud;
It is true I was too entranced.

The devil is real, I met him once.
He was beautiful, he turned out deadly;
How soon the sweet melody soured
Despite how beautiful the first medley.

The devil is real, I met him once.
The farewell came, with it came the burn:
He was done, he was gone
But still I begged: one more turn.

The devil is real, I met him once.
He dealt me death not once but twice –
First with sweetness t’is no lie,
Second with daggers of ice.

2 thoughts on “The Devil Is Real, I Met Him Once

Leave a Reply

