But Will You Give Me Chocolate?

I know you’ll invade my spaces and my places,
Leave cases of memory upon cases;
Traces of all the ways in which you’ve imposed upon my good graces –
That’s all well and good, I’m ready to show you all my faces –

But. Will you see my tender spots and kiss my scars and tend my hurts? I want to know, will you give me chocolate?

I know you’ll make me laugh, I know you’ll make me think:
We’ve got eternity plus forever to tickle each other pink,
To play and drink and then I’ll throw it on you,
Everything including  the kitchen sink.

But. When I’m angry and I don’t want to talk and on those days when I just bite your head off – on those days, those painful days that make you think twice – on those days will you give me chocolate?

I know you’ll see my softness but will you be my soft place to land?
I know you’ll be my comfort, but will you be the dawn in my darkness?
I know you’ll see my tears but will you wipe my cheek?
Deep questions these, some might even say difficult,
But really all I want to know is, will you give me chocolate?

Chocolate tells me that you like it when I  smile,
Even that above all others you like this smile.
You see, I want you to want to make me smile just like I want you to want to do the dishes –
No,not that, never that –
I want you to want to see me smile
Even if it takes you doing me in the kitchen;
Rest assured I will always give you your version of chocolate:
Whatever makes you smile.
I guess all I want, really, is for you to say you’ll give me chocolate.

Leave a Reply

