If I Were An Artist

If I could paint,
If I could sweep broad strokes of watercolour across canvas,
I would use blues and pinks and purples and oranges
To create a kaleidoscope
To tell without words about this thing.
Vibrant and vivid would be the reddish-violets
And the blue-pinks –
I would paint you sunsets that render you speechless,
The beautiful ones that sound like peace,
Look like beauty,
And feel like silence.

Alas I cannot paint; words fail.
So it must be that the inexplicable must remain concealed;
Call it unfathomable.

Leave a Reply

